Business English: To come up with

To come up with” is a three-word phrasal verb which means “to create/ generate/ find” most typically with relation to ideas.  You can also use it in other situations.

Examples:

Can you help me come up with some ideas for the new ad campaign?

I can’t come up with any interesting ideas for the annual employee dinner.

I always come up with my best ideas just before I fall asleep.

He finally came up with the capital to finance his business.

I thought I had no food in my kitchen, but, after looking around, I finally came up with enough ingredients for a great meal!

lightbulb idea

Leave a Reply

